Intel Ireland celebrates the 2024 Women in Technology Scholars

Intel Ireland is proud to announce the 2024 recipients of the Women in Technology Scholarship awards


  • March 26, 2024

  • Contact Intel PR

  • Follow Intel Newsroom on social:

    Twitter logo
    YouTube Icon



Pictured the 2024 WIT Scholarship recipients alongside their Intel Leaders and mentors. 

Scholars L-R:  Onosen Ikhide, Rihanna Frawley, Níse Ó Cuill, Kalkidan Dessie, Joe Njekwe; Jingyi Cui, Michelle -Ka Yi Liu, Aoife Steenson.

Intel Ireland is proud to announce the newest recipients of the Women in Technology Scholarship awards. Eleven exceptional women have been chosen as the newest Women in Technology scholars, marking another milestone in the program's 18-year history.

The Women in Technology scholarship program aims to encourage and empower high-achieving women to pursue careers in science and technology. Each scholar receives a monetary grant of €3,000, as well as opportunities for work placements at Intel's Leixlip or Shannon campuses. Additionally, each scholar is paired with an Intel mentor to provide guidance and support in their academic and professional journey.

This year's scholarships were awarded by various business groups within Intel, including Movidius, Manufacturing & Product Engineering, Corporate Services, and Intel Shannon. The program also offers a 'Women in Construction' scholarship awarded by the Fab Construction Enterprise Team.

In recent years, Intel Ireland has strengthened its academic partnerships through the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) program with leading universities in Ireland. This collaboration has allowed Intel to identify and support suitable candidates for the scholarship program, creating a valuable link between the company and the academic network.

"We are thrilled to continue the tradition of the Women in Technology scholarship program and support the next generation of women in science and technology," said a spokesperson from Intel Ireland.

Since its inception, the Women in Technology scholarship program has invested almost €2 million and supported 163 students. These new scholars represent the next generation of women in technology, and we look forward to seeing their contributions to the industry. Congratulations to all the recipients of the Women in Technology scholarships. 

Women in Technology Scholarship Winners

  • Michelle Ka Yi Liu, Trinity College Dublin | Hong Kong

  • Faith Olapade, Trinity College Dublin | Swords, Dublin

  • Aisling Murray, Trinity College Dublin | Rathfarnham, Dublin

  • Nísa Ó Cuill, Trinity College Dublin | Newtown, Kildare

  • Aoife Steenson, Maynooth University | Drogheda, Louth

  • Jingyi Cui, University College Dublin | Henan, China

  • Kalkidan Dessie, University College Dublin | Ethiopia / Dublin

  • Joy Njekwe, University College Dublin | Termonfeckin, Louth

  • Onosen Ikhide, University College Dublin | Lucan, Dublin

  • Sadhbh Gowran, Technical University Dublin | Sligo

  • Marta De La Cuadro Lozano, Technical University Dublin | Dublin

  • Rhianna Frawley, University of Limerick | Kilrush, Clare

About the Scholarship program:

Intel Ireland is committed to fostering diversity and empowering future leaders in science and technology. Through its scholarship programs and strategic partnerships, Intel Ireland endeavours to inspire innovation and drive positive change in society. The Women in Technology scholarship program, aims to encourage and support women pursuing careers in science and technology. By providing financial assistance, mentorship, and industry exposure, this programme strives to address the gender gap in STEM fields and cultivate a more inclusive workforce. For more information about Intel Ireland and its scholarship programs, visit